Writers Symposium 2017

Writers Contest

Entries for the 2017 Writing Contests may be submitted at any time after the entrant has registered. The deadline for entries is September 15, 2017. Winners will be announced September 22, 2017, at the Friday night program. There is no additional fee for entering the contests, and you may enter as many categories as you wish, but you may only enter one submission in each category and you may not enter the same material in multiple categories. The four categories are: Fiction (short stories or novel segments), Nonfiction (including memoir and journalism), Poetry, and Writing for Young Readers (including YA).

All submissions are limited to ten pages or fewer.  Entries must be submitted in the following format: double-spaced, Times New Roman, twelve-point font, one-inch margins on all sides--except poetry, which may be single-spaced. The title, author name, and category should appear on a cover sheet, but not on the manuscript pages. Manuscripts will not be returned. Portions of first-place winning entries may be read at the Friday-night program.

First-place winners in each category will receive a $100 prize. Second place winners will receive $50. Honorable Mention prizes may be awarded at the judges’ discretion.

No manuscript that has been previously published, in print or electronically, may be submitted. Material that has previously won First Place at the Rose State Writing Contests may not be resubmitted. Please do not include your registration or check with your contest entry. Contest submissions should be sent to this address: Rose State College, Attention: Community Learning Center, 6420 SE 15th Street, Midwest City OK 73110, or entries may be emailed to rwoodard@rose.edu. Emailed entries should be sent as an attachment in Microsoft Word format.