Rose State Awards Ten Outstanding Educators Published November 16, 2018

Golden Apple RecipientsRose State College presented the 17th Golden Apple Excellence in Teaching Awards on November 13th, 2018, to ten educators from Oklahoma schools representing K-12. The Golden Apple recognizes educators that have made a significant difference in the lives of their students.

A selection committee reviewed over 83 nomination essays submitted by Rose State College students. The winning teachers were honored at a banquet where nominating students read their article to the educator.

Award recipients include; Maryjane Burton of Choctaw High School, Cleo Bowen of Edmond North High School, Kristy Cooper of Del City High School, Stephanie Gragg of Midwest City High School, Gina Harris of Little Axe High School, Chief MSgt, Ralph Humphrey of Carl Albert High School, Martha Maeder of Norman North High School, Melissa Meek of Tulakes Elementary School, Jared Nyagol –Home Schooled and Bruce Smith of McLoud High School.

“The faculty at Del-City were master blacksmiths that fought tooth and nail to shape the rigid iron that makes up our student body. Mrs. Cooper was the symbol of strength that a growing student needs to get through their days,” wrote Michael Stinnett who nominated award-winning teacher Kristy Cooper.

“I can personally think of no award that is more meaningful and heartfelt than being chosen by a former student who you have touched and changed their life forever,” stated Jeanie Webb, President of Rose State College. “Because of each of you, these students’ lives have been transformed forever.”

Since its inception in 2001, there have been 198 honorees.

The Golden Apple Excellence in Teaching Award event at Rose State fell on the same week at the National Educators Association celebrated the 97th annual American Education Week.