Rose State President Appointed To Southern Regional Education Board Published May 7, 2020

Rose State College President Jeanie Webb has been appointed to serve on the Postsecondary Education Recovery Task Force. The Task Force is comprised of higher education institutions from 16 states and formed in response to COVID-19.

Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education Chancellor Glen D. Johnson, appointed Webb, who is serving as co-chair of the task force. 

“The Coronavirus pandemic has caused severe disruption to the higher education system and we will be feeling its effects for months and years to come,” Webb says. “This task force brings us all together to collectively look for responses and solutions that can and will be of great benefit in the future.” 

Webb joins other Oklahoma appointees Burns Hargis, President, Oklahoma State University; Joe Harroz, Interim President, University of Oklahoma; and John McArthur, President, Cameron University. The Oklahoma appointees will collaborate with postsecondary education representatives from Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia. 

The task force will collaborate to address COVID-19-related challenges facing colleges, universities and their students and to encourage institutions to work together to ensure a fully systemic approach to higher education recovery related to COVID-19. The task force will also collaborate with SREB’s K-12 Education Recovery Task Force. 

Among the central issues to be consider are funding and costs; safety and health; distance learning, technology and innovation; and student and faculty/staff support.