Group photo of smiling students

Choose From 60+ Academic Programs

Our degree and skilled-occupational offerings will get you where you're going



Rose State College offered its first classes under the name Oscar Rose Junior College in September 1970. Since then, the campus has grown to more than 22 buildings, 400 full time employees and 120 full time faculty. Rose State College has awarded more than 23,000 degrees.

Since the 40th anniversary in 2010, Rose State College has welcomed a new President, Dr. Jeanie Webb.  Since assuming presidency in 2013, Dr. Webb brought a renewed energy and focus to Rose State as it transitions to a new generation of students.  The campus is in the midst of a $22M, 5-year bond project.  With a vision to enrich the student experience, Dr. Webb added a collegiate Soccer program and began construction on student housing.  Additionally, because of the challenges of increasing competition and the mandate to increase student completion, Dr. Webb initiated a thorough review of the degree programs which has led to over 1,000 pages of curriculum revisions.  Other processes analyzed for relevance and effectiveness are the Strategic Plan and Campus Master Plan.  The internal improvements are going a long way to update and refresh the campus and its offerings.  However, the Rose State progress is not limited to the internal assets. 

Rose State College has also developed multiple strategies to improve its external presence to increase its competiveness in the modern marketplace.  These improvements include new messaging with the primary new tagline: Going Somewhere Starts Here; a new, student-focused and student-friendly website; and a new branding image which is incorporated into other marketing efforts like social media, billboards, radio ads, banner ads, and other media initiatives.  It is through Dr. Webb’s leadership and vision that Rose State College is positioning itself to become the first choice for students.

Rose State College Presidents

Name Term of Service
Jacob B. Johnson 1968-1972
Joe A. Leone 1972-1978
Joe T. Packnett 1978-1985
John E. Davis 1985-1986 (Interim)
Larry W. Nutter 1986-2000
James J. Cook 2000-2006
Terry D. Britton 2006-2013
Jeanie S. Webb 2013-